top of page
  • Writer's pictureRekha Sriram

Women don’t need to be empowered, just attitudes need to be changed!

Updated: Jun 5, 2020

I am very lucky. No no, I wasn’t born with a silver spoon nor was my life devoid of any perils. I was actually born during Mrs Gandhi’s emergency during which time, life was fraught with tension. But still I am considered lucky. Because the men I got associated with after my marriage are empowered!! I am talking about hubby and my sons. Actually we women do not need a feminist movement. We do not need a day dedicated to us. All we need is to change our attitudes!!!

· Stop raising your eyebrows when you see men handling groceries, keeping track of them.

· Stop praising men who are good at household chores, raising children, cooking.

· Stop praising father’s who attend all the PTA’s, who is well updated about their children’s school activities.

· Stop praising men who change diapers in a breeze, bath babies.

· Stop calling women lucky when their men are hands on.

· Stop weighing men down and keeping your expectations low.

· Stop pitying men and blaming women when men do household chores.


I have come across all kinds of women. Women who praise & the ones who pity.

Your mother or your grandmother must have told you that men cannot do all this. Only women can do it the best. They were wrong. Men do, may be even better than women. Most of the time men do not contribute because women make them feel undermined. Women feel only they can be home makers, childrearers. Think of it…can we do something right when someone is constantly bickering behind you and telling you that you are not doing it right?

Please women, because boys do not play with dolls does not mean they do not know how to take care of children! Alternatively stop praising women who earn money, who drive, who are independent etc!! My hubby is an extremely good homemaker & an up to date father, earns money & drives too. Alternatively I cook, clean, am raising kids, earn money & drive too.

So happy women’s day ladies, please empower yourself with the right attitude!!

52 views
bottom of page